Dumbledore’s Army Readathon TBR

Watercolor texture background

The Dumbledore’s Army readathon is being hosted by Aentee @ Read at Midnight. This readathon aims to encourage people to read more diverse books. The readathon will take place between 1st-15th January, and you can join in by using the hashtag #DAReadathon on Twitter and Instagram. You can find out more information over at the original sign up post.

dareadathon-id-ravenclaw

I’ve decided to give another readathon a go! I participated in Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews’ Halloween readathon, which was my first ever readathon, and loved the whole experience. So when I saw this readathon I knew I had to give it a shot.I have absolutely no idea how many of these books I’m going to get to. Reading 7 books in 2 weeks is quite the undertaking no matter how you look at it, but it’s also my birthday on January 9th, so we’ll see how that goes!

One of my reading goals for next year is to read more diversely so I’m really looking forward to getting involved in this readathon and making my way through at least some of these books.

All the banners were made by Aentee @ Read at Midnight. The covers will take you to Goodreads.

dareadathon-expecto-patronum

22754644

 

Simon Vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli.

I could have used this for the stupefy prompt, given that it’s such a popular book, but I’m personally very interested in LGBTQ narratives, and reading books about navigating your identity. Like most, I’ve heard amazing things about this book so I’m really hoping that this lives up to the hype!

 


da-readathon-expelliarmus

29470648

 

If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo.

I honestly don’t know if I’ve ever read a book with a transgender protagonist. Which, obviously, is really bad. I’m really looking forward to reading this one, as I feel I’ve mostly heard good things about it!

 

 


da-readathon-protego

27191166

 

The Vegetarian by Han Kang.

Several of the books on this list are #OwnVoices, but I specifically chose this one because it’s translated fiction, and it’s been quite a while since I read anything translated. The Vegetarian won the International Man Booker prize, so it’s been very hyped, but this is another one that I’ve also seen nothing but positive reviews for.

 


da-readathon-reducto

21017847

 

I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban by Malala Yousafzai, with Christina Lamb.

I am actually about 100 pages into this book, and it’s fascinating so far. I’ve been dipping in and out of it, so I thought that this readathon would be a good opportunity to make the time to finish it.

 


dareadathon-impedimenta

28807242

The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison.

Shamefully, I’ve never read anything by Toni Morrison. I’ve been meaning to for years, but now’s the time to actually read one of her books. I remember reading somewhere that The Bluest Eye was a good place to start, so this is one that I’ll definitely be making the time to read.

 

 


dareadathon-stupefy

30408280

 

Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Cordova.

Need I say more? Haha! I’ve seen this book absolutely everywhere this year and I finally bit the bullet and picked it up when it was a Kindle daily deal. The world in this sounds so interesting, and I love that the main character is bisexual!

 

 


dareadthon-lumos

23398763

 

Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng.

I’m cheating a little here, because this book wasn’t specifically recommended to me. However, Reg @ She Latitude recently posted a review of this book and it reminded me that I owned it and still need to read it!

 

 


 

So those are all the books I’m hoping to read over the course of this readathon! It’s probably a very ambitious TBR, but I think that most of these books sit somewhere between 200-300 pages, so none of them are too long. However, my TBR isn’t set in stone, so if you have any recommendations of diverse books that I should definitely check out, please let me know!

If you’re also participating in the #DAReadathon, please feel free to link me to your TBRs in the comments! I’ll be posting updates as to how I’m faring in the readathon over on Twitter 🙂

sig

12 thoughts on “Dumbledore’s Army Readathon TBR

  1. The only book I’ve ever read by Toni Morrison is Beloved, which I loved. It’s dark and haunting and unsettling at times, but beautiful nonetheless. What a fun readathon!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yay! So glad you’re participating in this one, Amy 😀 Brilliant TBR! I enjoyed Labyrinth Lost! I had a few tiny issues with the characters being a bit flat, but I loved the setting and culture. I really want to read The Vegetarian and I Am Malala. Hopefully we’ll both enjoy Simon Vs too!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! 😊
      I’m really looking forward to reading both Labyrinth Lost and Simon! I feel like I’ve heard so many good things about both of them so I’m trying to manage my expectations 😅

      Like

Leave a Reply

