BOOKISH CHRISTMAS GIFT GUIDE

bookishchristmas

If you’re anything like me, you’ve barely started your Christmas shopping, and are frantically searching through gift guides hoping for inspiration. Today, I thought I’d share with you my go-tos when it comes to buying Christmas gifts for bookish friends. Though, honestly, they’re usually the easiest friends to buy for!

I know that this was a Top Ten Tuesday topic, but you’ll notice that it isn’t in the same format as my usual Top Ten Tuesday posts. There are way more than ten books in here, and I’ve split each of my recommendations into different categories. So while it isn’t in the same vein as TTTs usually are, I figured I’d give it a mention!

Without further ado, here are my recommendations!

prettyone

pretty

Pictured: Jane Austen box setLittle Women and Heidi.

This one is pretty straight forward, and the easiest pick if you have a friend that’s a fan of classic books. The most popular of these is the Penguin Hardcover Classics designed by Coralie Bickford-Smith. I have the full set of Jane Austen’s books (a treat for myself when it was on offer!) in addition to the clothbound edition of Les Miserables. Obviously, this is a pricey option, but the same patterns are available in paperback, and I own quite a few of those too. Penguin are probably one of the best when it comes to designs on classic books, and they have several collections:

When it comes to classics, there’s also the Puffin in Bloom collection, which is a smaller collection of children’s classics.

While the pretty option is mostly applicable to classics, I also want to mention the hardback editions of Terry Pratchett’s Discworld novels and Gollancz tenth anniversary editions of a handful of books. Things like this are perfect if someone’s favourite book or author is published in one of these editions!


collector

collector1

Pictured: Illustrated Philosopher’s Stone & the Harry Potter colouring book.

This one is a pretty good option if you know someone that’s a fan of a pretty big series. The most obvious, of course, is Harry Potter. I was gifted the illustrated Philosopher’s Stone last year, and it does make for a really lovely gift. This year, I’m pretty sure I’ll be gifted Chamber of Secrets and the Fantastic Beasts screenplay. Similarly, since colouring books really gained traction, almost every popular book series has an accompanying colouring book.

Aside from Harry Potter, there’s also The World of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin, which is the history behind the A Song of Ice and Fire. This book is really in-depth, so it’s definitely better suited to fans of the books, as opposed to the TV show. It’s also beautifully illustrated, so it’s another nice, if expensive, gift.

collector2

Pictured: The World of Ice and Fire.


starterpack

series

PicturedTemeraireThe Name of the WindSix of CrowsThe Final Empire.

This is definitely one that I do a lot, even if I haven’t strictly read the book. This is a good option without it being too huge of a commitment. If it’s only the first book, then they can make up their mind about whether or not they want to continue the series.

In the past, I’ve bought people the first book in series that I’ve enjoyed. I’ve previously gifted Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas and Cinder by Marissa Meyer. However, I’ve also bought people the first book in a series I haven’t read, like Rebel BelleReally, it depends on how well you think you know their tastes.


copout

faves

Pictured: The Song of AchillesThe Book ThiefCarry OnUprooted.

I do this all the time. Every year. If not multiple times a year. If you’re anything like me, you harp on about your favourite books to your friends all the time. One surefire way to get them to read the book you keep bothering them about is to just buy it for them! Fortunately, most of the books I recommend to friends have been a success–either that, or they’re far too polite to tell me otherwise.


nonreader

graphicnovels

Pictured: DeadpoolSagaNailbiterMaus

Buying books for someone who you’re not really sure is into reading is a bit of a risk, to say the least. I figure a graphic novel or comic bind-up is a good option for someone who doesn’t read much because they say they don’t have the time. It’s also a pretty good option for someone who you know is into reading, but hasn’t necessarily tried comics/graphic novels before.

There’s also a pretty decent variety when it comes to genres. The most obvious route, I suppose, is superhero comics (I pretty much dived headfirst into this and began with Deadpool). But if the person you’re buying for is a fan of sci-fi or fantasy and you don’t want to deal with the fairly intimidating history of Marvel or DC, then Saga and Nimona are really solid choices. Aside from that, for fans of thrillers, there’s NailbiterStraying away from fiction entirely, there’s something like Maus, a non-fiction narrative about the Holocaust in comic form.

Essentially, your opportunistic when it comes to graphic novels are endless, and it’s a nice change from buying someone a novel.


So those are the guidelines I tend to follow when it comes to buying books for other people! While I love receiving books, I also really like gifting books, so I do veer toward buying them for people regardless of how often they read.

I hope this post has given you some inspiration! 🙂

sig

9 thoughts on “BOOKISH CHRISTMAS GIFT GUIDE

Leave a Reply

