Halloween Read-A-Thon TBR

halloween-tbr

So the lovely Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews is hosting a Halloween Read-A-Thon this year! Despite the fact that I’ve never participated in a read-a-thon before, I just couldn’t pass this one up. As you probably know, horror is one of my favourite genres, but I’ve never actually dedicated a significant amount of time to reading just horror or thriller books before. Even though my MA dissertation was about horror books, I’m still really in the mood to read some more! The read-a-thon takes place from the 10th October to the 31st October. If you’d like to know more about it, here’s the announcement post. Lauren also created a few challenges to go along with the read-a-thon, so I’ve used those to shape my TBR!

costume-party

22358462For this I went with Nailbiter, Vol. 1: There Will Be Blood. This is a graphic novel series that I’m so intrigued by. I only really got into comic books/graphic novels last year and as such, I’ve never read a horror graphic novel before. This one takes place in the fictional Buckaroo, Oregon, birthplace of 16 serial killers, and follows NSA agent Nicholas Finch as he searches for his missing friend. That’s pretty much all I know about it, because I want to go into this one relatively blind.


haunted-house

28054234I’m choosing The Loney for this one, but to be honest, I’m not really sure if this is actually supernatural/paranormal. I mean, Amazon shelve it as featuring ghosts, but I have a feeling that it’s not literal ghosts as much as the ghosts of the past/skeletons in the closet kind of thing. I know this is a Gothic book, and I know that it has some focus on religion. I also think The Loney is personified? Basically I know nothing about it, but I’m hoping for this one to be as atmospheric as everyone says it is!


urban-legends

20619710Okay, who doesn’t know the plot of Misery at this point? I have actually seen the film adaptation of this (blasphemy, I know) and I did enjoy it. Despite basically knowing what’s going to happen, I’m really looking forward to reading this because I love how King does suspense. Plus, I know there’s going to be more to it than the film. I’ve been really in the mood to read some more Stephen King lately, so I have no doubt that I’ll absolutely fly through this one.


witching-hour1

21356477I’m so excited to finally read Bird Box. I picked it up on my Kindle at some point last year, and I have no idea why I haven’t gotten around to it sooner. This is another book that I know very little about, but I know that so many people love it. I thought this was a good choice to read after dark, because it’s relatively short and hopefully reading it at night will add to the atmosphere!

 


trick-or-treat

24800I’m going for trick, so that I can finally finish House of Leaves. I started reading this in April I think? And I just haven’t picked it up since. It’s about 700 pages, but the actual “novel” is around 500 pages, the remaining 200 are extra materials that are referenced in the main text itself. Plus, some of those pages only have one or two words on them. I’m about 100 pages into this already, but I might just start again from the beginning. We’ll see how motivated I am.

 


all-hallows-eve

11381895I’m not too sure whether or not I’ll get around to reading six books, but I do have a few options for this. Like I said before, I’m really keen to read more Stephen King, and basically have been since watching Stranger Things. It’s probably no surprise to anyone that I’m completely obsessed with it, and the whole show just felt like a Stephen King book to me. To that end, I saw so many people recommending It if you loved Stranger Things. However, It is actually over a thousand pages long so uh, we’ll see.

2776789If I don’t pick up It I might pick up The Passage, to start my reread of Justin Cronin’s vampire trilogy. The last book in the trilogy came out this year, and I’d really like to read it before the year is out. However, the second book in the trilogy came out in 2012, so there’s no way I’ll be able to just dive into the final book. I always say it’s one of my favourite series of all time, so it’ll be interesting to see if it stands up to the test.

Failing that, I can always cheat pick up the next volume of Nailbiter if I end up liking the first one.

 


So that’s my TBR! Some of these books are definitely ambitious, but this is my favourite genre, so I’m feeling fairly confident about getting through the majority of them. If you’re also participating in this read-a-thon, link me to your TBRs! I’d love to see what everyone else is thinking of reading 🙂

sig

 

 

 


This is a scheduled post as I’m currently away on holiday! I might not be able to respond to comments until I’m back, but I’ll probably be around on Twitter and Instagram 🙂

 

13 thoughts on “Halloween Read-A-Thon TBR

  1. Great TBR, Amy 😍😍 I’m so glad you’re participating!!! I can’t believe I hadn’t heard of Nailbiter! I just added it to my TBR. I really want to read The Loney, Bird Box and House of Leaves too. So if you get to those I can’t wait to see what you think. I really need to read a Stephen King book, but I don’t think I could ever read IT because I’m terrified of clowns 😅

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!! 😊
      I don’t even remember where I heard of it but it sounds SO good! I’m really hoping I manage to read most of these.
      Hahaha 😂 to be honest they freak me out a bit too! I’ve never been able to watch the film haha!

      Like

Leave a Reply

