TAG | The Coffee Book Tag

coffee tag2

I’m back with another tag! I was tagged to do this by Lauren @ Comma Hangover—thank you again! 🙂

Without further ado, let’s get into the questions!


black

822993A GAME OF THRONES BY GEORGE R.R. MARTIN

I know that so many people absolutely love the TV show, but are incredibly intimidated by the books. Which I completely understand, but I think if you’re up to date with the TV show, you’re probably in a really good place to read the books.

I watched the first season before starting the first book, and then read the rest before the season two premiere, and I found that I got through the first book really fast because I knew the plot. Obviously, there’s more detail in the book, but the series is nowhere near as intimidating as it seems!

 


peppermint

22914373MY TRUE LOVE GAVE TO ME BY STEPHANIE PERKINS (ED.)

I read this the Christmas before last, and thought it was a really great winter/festive read. I bought it for my friend so we could read it around the same time, though I think she ended up reading it before me!

I’m actually not too big on festive books, so reading a book like this around Christmastime was a first for me.

 


hot chocolate

511683DOUBLE ACT BY JACQUELINE WILSON

I used to absolutely love Jacqueline Wilson’s books when I was a kid, but this was probably my absolute favourite. Ruby and Garnet were my favourite fictional characters for a long time, particularly Garnet. I read it over and over, and I’m fairly certain I used to take it on pretty much every family holiday.

 

 


starbucks

21840310THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN BY PAULA HAWKINS

I feel like this book hasn’t dropped in popularity since its release last year. It probably has a lot to do with the fact that it’s been adapted into a film, which I believe is coming out soon, but I still see it all the time.

I go through stages where I really want to give in the hype and read it, and stages where I’m not interested in it at all. At this point, I think I’ll probably end up seeing the film before I get around to reading it!


expresso

21969786MORE THAN THIS BY PATRICK NESS

Really, I could have picked any Patrick Ness book for this. I almost always end up reading his books into the dead of the night. However, I had so many questions while I was reading More Than This, and I was so desperate to find out what was actually going on. I know this is an overused phrase, but I literally couldn’t put it down., there didn’t seem to be a lull in the plot for me to set it aside. If you’re wanting to get into Patrick Ness but don’t want to commit to starting a series, I’d definitely recommend starting with this one.


hipster

13614864KNOW NOT WHY BY HANNAH JOHNSON

I love this book so much. I reread it pretty much every year. It’s about Howie, who gets a job at a craft store in order to pick up girls, but ends up falling for his manager, Arthur, instead. It’s such a sweet, funny book. I know a lot of people find Howie insufferable, and initially, he is, but he grows so much over the course of the book. It’s a really, really great read. It’s only available as an ebook on Amazon and Smashwords, and I’m pretty sure it’s on sale on Amazon at the moment!


decaf

17927395A COURT OF MIST AND FURY BY SARAH J. MAAS

I wrote a whole review on this book, but basically I expected this to be absolutely amazing and I ended up disappointed. It’s not that it was bad, exactly, it’s just that everyone was saying how much better it was than the first book. I enjoyed the first book mostly because I was in the mood for it, but I understood why people disliked it. Honestly, I think I’m just not getting on with Maas’ stuff more generally, so it’s probably more to do with me than it’s to do with the book itself.


perfect blend

captive prince 2THE CAPTIVE PRINCE SERIES BY C.S. PACAT

I’m cheating and picking a series, but I couldn’t pick just one of these books. The series really puts your emotions through the ringer, and it just got better and better for me. It ended so perfectly, I can’t recommend it enough.

I did a full series review for Captive Prince which you can read here!


green tea

18143977ALL THE LIGHT WE CANNOT SEE BY ANTHONY DOERR

I know this book has a lot of hype, but the writing is so beautiful. I really loved the plot itself, and the way the narrative is structured, but what I really loved was the writing. It’s kind of a slow read, but I really didn’t mind. One of the main characters goes blind when she’s six, and there’s a wonderful passage where she’s remembering colours. I can’t say whether or not it stands up to the hype, because I pretty much read it when it came out and missed the resurgence that came after it won the Pulitzer Prize, but honestly, it’s worth it if you love beautiful writing.


chai tea

13600168DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE BY LAINI TAYLOR

This series takes place in whole bunch of different places, and I have such wanderlust for every single one of them. Part of the book takes place in Marrakesh, which I have visited and would love to visit again. The main character, Karou, and her best friend Zuzana, live in Prague, and later in the series, some of the characters visit Rome. I love this series, and part of the reason is all of the different settings.

 


earl grey

14800993DRACULA BY BRAM STOKER

I never want to say that my favourite classic is Dracula, but it’s Dracula. Honestly, I hate that so many people hold this up as the “perfect” vampire book, and bemoan the state of vampire literature today. Look. All vampire literature is ridiculous. I love it, believe me, I love it, but it’s ridiculous, and Dracula is no exception. It also really isn’t scary, and Dracula himself isn’t that evil.The man just wants to buy a house in England and he gets chased across Europe and murdered, the poor fella.


And that’s the tag! Again, I’m being super lazy and I’m not tagging anyone, because I’m so behind on tags but please consider yourself tagged if you’d like to do it! 😀

sig

11 thoughts on “TAG | The Coffee Book Tag

Leave a Reply

