TAG | The Book Sacrifice Tag

book sacrifice

I was tagged to do this (forever ago!) by Louise @ geniereads! The tag was originally created by Ariel Bissett on YouTube. In this tag, I have to sacrifice some of my least favourite books. If I mention one of your favourite books here, I’m really sorry, and it’s not my intention to bash anyone’s faves, these are just my opinions.

Let’s get to it!


overhyped

Situation: You’re in a store when the zombie apocalypse hits. The military informs everyone that over-hyped books are the zombies only weakness. What book that everyone else says is amazing but you disliked do you start chucking at the zombies?

16143347 We Were Liars by E. Lockhart. I read this back when it first came out, and there was so much hype that I couldn’t not pick it up. I didn’t dislike this book, I thought it was just okay. Because of how people were talking about it (and being encouraged to lie about the plot itself as part of its marketing campaign) I knew there was going to be a huge twist, so I read the book with this anticipation, so when the twist actually came I wasn’t as shocked by it. I’d actually kind of guessed it already. I did actually enjoy the writing, I just think I ended up expecting more because of how highly people were speaking of it.

sequel

Situation: Torrential downpour! What sequel are you willing to use as an umbrella to protect yourself?

17227209 Guardian by Alex London. This book is the sequel to Proxywhich I did really enjoy. After reading Guardian, however, I found myself wishing that these two books had just been one longish book. I found that this book tried to fit in way too much, and that in hindsight, not a lot happened in Proxy to set up any of the stuff that happened in its sequel. It might just be that I read them too far apart, but while I enjoyed it, I just became very aware of how it could have been better. I also found that this book ended really abruptly, so it didn’t answer some of the questions I had. It’s not bad, it was just a bit of a disappointment.

classic

Situation: You’re in English class and your professor raves about a Classic that “transcends time”. If given the opportunity to travel back in time, which Classic would you try to stop from ever publishing?

762821 A Sentimental Journey by Laurence Sterne. This book is literally about a man who travels around France and cries at things. It was written in 1768, and is a novel of sensibility, which basically means that it’s very, very, very heavy on the emotion, and light on everything else. From what I remember, it’s written in a style that either is, or is close to, stream of consciousness, so it was really hard to get through, and wasn’t rewarding in any way. The book is less than 150 pages and it took me an absolute age to get through.

least fave

Situation: apparently global warming = suddenly frozen wasteland. Your only hope of survival for warmth is to burn a book. Which book will you not regret lighting?

13536858Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James. Honestly, I wish I had a better or more original answer for this, but I think we can all agree that this is probably the worst book that I’ve ever read. Aside from all the really awful things about it, it’s just boring. Literally nothing happens for so much of this book. I honestly couldn’t believe that it was over 500 pages long! I had to read that stupid contract he wants her to sign twice! So I mean, if we’re talking about setting books on fire to survive, this provides plenty of fuel, so at least there’s that.


And that’s the tag! This was really fun, and it’s interesting to talk about books that I don’t like instead of books that I do like. I’m not tagging anyone again, because I’ve been so out of the loop lately that I have no idea who’s already been tagged! So if you want to do the tag, then please feel free! 🙂

sig

12 thoughts on “TAG | The Book Sacrifice Tag

  1. I have We Were Liars just sitting on my shelf, its been there for ages! I was interested when the hype was up but now I’m wondering if I’ll actually enjoy it or not, I’ll pick it up… eventually hahah

    Gosh that Classic truly needs to be stopped, I mean a man that just cries at things? while this sounds like it would be hilarious to make fun of I wouldn’t like to read about it 😄 I love this seeing this tag your answers were great!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think We Were Liars is one of those books that I think I would have enjoyed more if it hadn’t been so hyped up. I did get through it in one sitting though, so it was gripping in that sense, and it is a really quick read!

      I know! I had to read it for university, so I was really worried that I’d been reading it wrong but nope, that’s pretty much what it’s about haha!

      Thank you! 🙂 I really like seeing this tag too, it’s so interesting seeing what books people don’t like

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I hadn’t even heard of We Were Liars when I picked it up, so I was pleasantly surprised when I read it. Then I started hearing all the hype and I realize how overrated it is, but I think it’s still one of my favorite contemporaries (I don’t read many of them so maybe my standards are low, lol)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

