The Miranda Sings Award

miranda sings

 

I was nominated for this award by Fatima @ Noteable Pad and Katherine @ Fabled Haven! Thank you both so much! Sorry it’s taken me so long to get around to posting it! 🙂

I love that this award encourages people to feel positive about themselves, although I actually struggled to come up with 7 things. Like a lot of people, I find it much easier to criticize myself than praise myself—or I could point out my more “negative” traits that I don’t really mind, like “I’m bossy” or “I’m short-tempered” haha!

mirandasings

Rules:

  • Announce your win with a post, and link the blogger who nominated you.
    Include the featured image on your blog post.
  • Nominate 10 bloggers (or as many as you can think of) and link your awardees in the post.
  • List seven (7) things you love about yourself. (This can be about your appearance, your personality, your achievements, etc.)
  • Don’t use negative connotation (i.e. Don’t say things like – “I’m prettier than an average person.” or “People have told me I’m smart.” You are pretty. You are smart.)

7 THINGS I LOVE ABOUT MYSELF

I’m honest. Not just in the vaguely mean way either, though I suppose I mean that, too. I don’t think honesty just means “tell someone your mean opinion”, I think it means the good stuff too, so if I think one of my friends looks nice, I’m going to tell them that they look nice.

I’m smartUsually I’m hesitant about saying this, though I don’t really know why. I’ve always been “academic” in that I always did well at school. I achieved a first on my undergraduate degree, and I’m doing a masters degree. So I’m smart in that sense, but I’m also quick to learn more generally. If I want to learn how to do something, I google it, read up on it, and then usually I can do said thing competently after a couple of tries.

I’m a good listener. Sometimes, things just don’t need my opinion (I know, I’m shocked too) and I like to think that I know when to just listen to what someone has to say. I like to think that, most of the time, I can distinguish between when someone wants advice, and when they just want someone to listen to them.

I’m more confident. A few years ago I could barely manage to say thanks to a bus driver, let alone start a conversation with someone I didn’t know.  I’ve learned to be more comfortable with myself and now social situations in general are nowhere near as daunting as they used to be!

I make people laugh. I wouldn’t go as far as to say that I’m funny, but I am pretty good at cheering people up.

I’m tough. Not to get Real™ during a tag, and without going into detail, but last December was easily the worst month of my entire life, but I got through it, and I’m pretty proud of that. I don’t mind being the responsible one, and I don’t mind being the person people lean on when things get hard.

I’m kind. Like I said before, I make an effort to say nice things to people—specifically things that I actually mean—because I know how much a compliment can brighten someone’s day.


NOMINATIONS

  1. Julianne @ Quilltricks
  2. Izzi @ Ravenclaw Book Club
  3. Shannon @ Captivated by Fantasy
  4. Kayla @ kdrewthebookworm
  5. Gretchen @ ChicNerdReads
  6. The Jouska Blog
  7. Anushka @ Living in Pages
  8. Emily @ Rose Read
  9. Martina @ The Mystery Corner
  10. Maggie @ In a Reading World

If you’ve done it before, or you don’t want to do it, then that’s no problem 🙂

sig

Have fun!

 

26 thoughts on “The Miranda Sings Award

  1. Aw, I really enjoyed reading this! You sound like such a great person 🙂 I can definitely tell you’re smart and kind!
    I think being a good listener is so important too. It can actually make you a more understanding person.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oooh thank you for nominating me! The thing is, you’re like the third person who tagged me in this, but I don’t like Miranda Sings so I never do it. 😂
    And I love hearing that you got more confident! I keep hoping that once I get to university, social situations will be easier for me. 😃

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I was just recently nominated for this award and I love the positive vibes it brings to the bookish community ❤ Admittedly, complimenting yourself is tough but it's also something that needs to be done rather regularly… Loved learning about you and finding your blog Amy 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh I feel horrible about the fact that I didn’t see that you tagged me in this!Sorry!I might do this but the chances are less since I do not like Miranda Sings! and I love how you became confident,I still am wayyy too shy to talk to a stranger or just make good conversation!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

