TAG | Problematic Fave Book Tag

problematicfave

This tag was created by Izzi @ Ravenclaw Book Club, and I was also tagged by Izzi!

I feel like there might be some unpopular opinions in this? So, y’know, remember that they’re just my opinions, you don’t have to agree with them, I’m not saying my opinions are “right” or “better”, etc., etc., etc.

 

A character everyone loves that you hate.

Vague spoilers for the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas. 

Aelin Galathynius, the artist formerly known as Celaena Sardothien. I don’t hate her, per se, it’s just that her entire character seemed to change between Heir of Fire and Queen of Shadows. She cast off Celaena as if she were casting off her coat, and it really didn’t work for me. I found myself growing incredibly weary of hearing about how hot and powerful she was — like, okay…but some character development would have been nice?

 

A character everyone hates that you love. 

Guys… I really like Kylo Ren. He’s a petulant manchild, I know, but I’m so interested. I can’t wait to learn more about his character; I’m so interested in how he got involved with Snoke, and why no one in his family apparently thought to tell him about Vader before somebody else could. I also like that he’s a snarky asshole.

tumblr_o4h113JT9n1s1gfhxo1_250

 

A character that started out problematic but grew to be a better person.

I actually really struggled for this one because I’m not really about redemption plot lines, I’d much rather see people become increasingly awful as time passes. Also, I’m incredibly hesitant to pick this character because he doens’t really redeem himself, but Jamie Lannister? He’s very content to have his world confined to just Cersei when the books start out, and he’s incredibly cocky and self-involved. As the series develops (and, really, when he loses his hand) he starts becoming a different person, something that’s probably best exemplified in his rescue of Brienne.

 

A character that started out good but became problematic.

giphy2I’m not taking problematic to mean that I disliked them here, but rather that they’re a character who became more and more corrupt, so: Walter White! He’s my second problematic fave, but I’ll just mention him here because I love the way his character develops. I mean, his starting motivation was to provide for his family and it’s absolutely fascinating seeing that motivation completely disintegrate as the series goes on. He becomes so self-involved and obsessed with power that each and every time he says “I’m doing this for my family” it becomes more and more of a lie (I mean, spoilers? But in the finale when he finally admits that he did it for himself? I was LIVING). His is probably one of my favourite character arcs of all time. It’s brilliant.

 

A problematic couple that you ship (doesn’t have to be canon).

I probably have quite a few, but you’ll never catch me confessing to them, so I’m stealing Izzi’s answer and going with Draco and Harry. I just think their dynamic is incredibly interesting, and I love seeing people’s interpretations of their lives/personalities post-Hogwarts.

 

A couple everyone ships that you find problematic (doesn’t have to be canon).

Again, spoilers for the Throne of Glass series.

Aelin and Rowan!!! He’s awful to her in Heir of Fire, and suddenly they’re all over each other in Queen of Shadows? I don’t get it! There’s been no relationship development for them, and I’m just not feeling it. Is it just because they’re hot? Like, I’m supposed to ship them because they’re the most ~aesthetically pleasing~ together? I can’t take it seriously. All that Aelin wandering around in her skimpy nightwear and Rowan being consumed with lust or whatever — isn’t he supposed to be a hundred years old? The man needs to pull himself together.

 

A problematic trope that you love.

I love whiny/broody men. The whole “my tragic backstory has made me a total dick” thing? I’m here for it. I am 100% here for the Sasuke Uchihas of the fictional worlds, I don’t care. It’s the worst and I don’t care.

 

A book/movie/TV show that is problematic but you love anyway.

Probably Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt? I know there are issues with it, and some of the jokes/plot lines make me uneasy, but mostly I watch this show for Titus.

tumblr_o6ry7xOuL11upns2wo1_500

tumblr_o6ry7xOuL11upns2wo2_500

 

A book/movie/TV show that you hate because it’s problematic.

I don’t think there’s one I feel particularly passionate about? Usually I’m pretty good at knowing when a something’s going to contain something that I’ll end up getting mad about. I mean, I can’t really get behind Fifty Shades. And I’m petty as hell, so I’m still kind of mad that Game of Thrones cut out Arianne Martell’s character, and I’ve only been half watching it since then really, but I wouldn’t go so far as to say that I hate it? I don’t really have an answer to this one haha!

 

Your problematic fave.

giphyIsn’t Amy Dunne the ultimate problematic fave? The woman’s a psychopath, but I loved her character. She’s so, so interesting. She’s absolutely ruthless and so, aggressively intelligent. I actually found myself surprised at how far back into her own past her manipulations reached. Her whole character is what kept me reading this book. I also really enjoyed the film adaptation; Rosamund Pike got Amy absolutely spot on, and watching the film actually made me like the book more!

I’ve already mentioned Walter White, but I figure Saul Goodman should get a mention too. I’m very enamored by Better Call Saul. It’s really interesting watching his transition from Jimmy McGill to Saul Goodman, and it’s so painful watching it when you know exactly what’s going to happen. Everything Jimmy/Saul does comes from a good place, but his methods are so very, very wrong.


I’m going to tag:

  1. Katherine @ Fabled Haven
  2. Julianne @ Quilltricks
  3. Shannon @ Captivated by Fantasy

And anyone else who wants to do it! This was such a great tag, so I hope you guys have as much fun with it as I did! 🙂

sig

17 thoughts on “TAG | Problematic Fave Book Tag

  1. Yay, thank you for doing the tag! 😊
    I should probably watch Breaking Bad at some point. My brother and my mom love that show!
    Everyone hates the characters in Queen of Shadows. I haven’t even read the series, but I’ve heard so many people talk about how stupid the changes are that I almost agree. 😂😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No problem! It’s a great tag 🙂
      You definitely should! It’s brilliantly done, and it’s so easy to get immersed into it.
      When I first read it I was so hesitant to say that I didn’t like it, because it was getting nothing but five star reviews, but now I’ve seen more people have had the same issues I feel so relieved haha!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Haha your answers are absolutely brilliant. I know exactly what you mean about Walter White. I was so fascinated by his character development. That line is one of my favourites too! I still can’t get over that ending though. I remember watching the last episode and thinking: ‘How did this happen? Where did it all go wrong?’ and it really does make you think, wow! This could happen to anyone.

    I genuinely really used to like Sasuke, but as I grew up I just couldn’t get over how much of a dick he became (I’ve not watched it in a long time, so I don’t know if he changes). I preferred Itachi (he’s not any better :P)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly! The difference between where and who Walter is in the first season and in the final season is astounding.

      I had such a love/hate relationship with Sasuke haha! I loved Itachi, even though he was just as bad!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ahh, thank you so much for the tag!!

    I completely agree with Amy Dunne – she’s the ultimate problematic fave, hahaha. I also completely agree when it came to Aelin – I felt like I was constantly being told she was a queen, rather than being shown. I also felt that, while it’s her birthright, she still has a long way to go before she can be queen??? She can still be so immature and petty about some things, as well as too rash – aka, I have no idea as to how she’d handle diplomacy. It’s lowkey reminding me of Dany from GoT, hahaha. Here’s to hoping we get more character development in Empire of Storms!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No problem! 😀

      I know! I was so excited about seeing her development from someone who has only ever had to look out for herself to someone who has to consider the needs of an entire population, but it just wasn’t there? It was more like “oh her secret identity has been revealed, so she’s a queen now”. I never thought of the Dany parallel but you’re so right haha! I’ve got my fingers crossed for Empire of Storms because I really do want to see how everything works out!

      Like

  4. I totally agree that exploring the dynamics between Draco and Harry (or any other pairing really) post-Hogwarts is so interesting. I love seeing different people’s interpretations of how their relationship would play out.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

