THE BLOGGER RECOGNITION AWARD

blogger-recognition-award.jpg

I was nominated by Izzi @ Ravenclaw Book Club , Fatima @ NotablePad, and Jill @ Rant and Rave Books! Thank you guys so much! 🙂

RULES:

  • Write a post to show your award.
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started.
  • Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.
  • Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  • Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to.

 

HOW MY BLOG STARTED

It actually took me a really long time to convince myself to start a blog. Beyond having a LiveJournal and a Tumblr, I’d not had a “real blog”, and I was very shy in regard to putting myself out there, etc. etc. etc. I took a Creative Writing module in my last year of university, and that gave me greater confidence in my writing all round, and I began to think about starting a blog, but literally months passed before I made my account. My main motivation was really that I was finishing uni, and I still really wanted to talk about books. I’d spent three years of my life talking about them, and I wasn’t ready to stop. When I started my masters, I realised that I had one year left of studying books, but thinking critcally about books was a habit I wanted to keep, so I started the blog, and here I am!

 

ADVICE FOR NEW BLOGGERS

I can’t imagine I’ll be saying anything that other people haven’t already said, but I suppose if you keep hearing it, then it’s good advice! First of all I’d say to pick a focus. For instance, this is obviously a book blog, so you’ll expect that the main feature of this blog is going to be books. Naturally, some things go hand in hand, like it wouldn’t be too off-topic for me to talk about a film or a TV show on here, and I do talk about writing, but I do have a primary focus.

This one might seem obvious but be yourself. People might find your review through Google, or Twitter, or wherever, but they’ll stay because of you. Ultimately it’s your opinion that you’re putting out there. It’s easy to get bogged down in worrying that you don’t read what other bloggers read, or you really don’t like a series that’s really popular, or you don’t read as much as other people, but really, that doesn’t matter. I figure you follow people based on their personalities, or the impression you get from them when you read their post, not just for the books they read. You have to value your own opinion, and you have to assume that people will be interested in your thoughts. 

NOMINATIONS

Ah, I’m sort of cheating here, but I’m not actually going to nominate anyone for now. I can’t think of anyone who hasn’t been nominated! (That being said, if you haven’t been tagged, do let me know and I’ll tag you!). But thank you again to all the lovely people that nominated me 🙂

sig

8 thoughts on “THE BLOGGER RECOGNITION AWARD

  1. Great advice! You make such a good point in saying that you follow people based on their personalities. So what if you haven’t read all the books they have? If you can still look forward to someone’s posts despite that, it says a lot.
    Also, the fact that it took you a long time to start blogging shows that you thought about it a lot more than I did. I did rush into blogging, but sort of for the same reason that you did. I still wanted to talk about books without annoying the people around me. I didn’t intend to start reviewing books, I just wanted to talk about them. Then I started and I haven’t looked back 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks! You’re absolutely right, I think it’s great if people read/enjoy your posts regardless of what it’s about.

      A lot of it was confidence for me—I used to be incredibly shy and would never have dreamed of starting a blog! I was so worried that people wouldn’t read it, or they’d read it and wouldn’t like it, which was all very silly looking back. But I kept thinking about it and I’m really glad I started! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad you did this tag. I agree 100%. It’s so important to be yourself when blogging because that’s the reason people will follow. I look for a certain voice when I follow a blog, same as what I look for in a new book. Great advice!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! And totally, I love it when you can see people’s personality in their posts, or you can tell that they’re really passionate or interested in what they’re talking about.

      Like

  3. I definitely relate about feeling nervous to put yourself out there! When I first started really using my blog I was like so intimidated to comment on people’s posts, but fortunately everyone was so welcoming and it’s actually really helped me gain some confidence in initiating conversations. I’m really glad you decided to start a blog, because yours is great ♥

    Fantastic advice too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

