REAL NEAT BLOG AWARD

real-neat-blog-award

I was tagged by Emily @ Rose Read, thank you! 🙂 I love your questions for this!

RULES:

  • Thank and link the blogger that nominated you.
  • Answer the 7 questions that the nomination has provided you.
  • Create 7 questions for your nominees.
  • Nominate 7 other bloggers.

 

QUESTIONS:

1. Where are you from? What’s your favorite thing about that place?

When I was little, I lived in North Wales, but I’ve spent most of my life living in Yorkshire. I actually live in Bronte country, and I’ve never been to the Bronte parsonage which is really, really bad haha! My favourite things about living here is that most places look pretty, because it’s the countryside, that famous Northern charm—for the most part, people are really friendly, and I’ve made plenty of old lady friends just waiting at the bus stop 😉

2. If you could have any fictional creature as a pet, what would it be?

A phoenix! Obviously I was going to pick a bird.

3. Have you ever met an author and got a book signed? Who? What was your conversation like?

Yes! When I was seven, and I met Jacqueline Wilson! I didn’t even know there was a signing going on until we saw a huge queue out of Borders (moment of silence for Borders, please) my mum saw her friend in the queue, and she told us.. Jacqueline Wilson was my all-time favourite author, I’d read so many of her books, and lots of them I’d read over and over again, so I was really nervous about meeting her. When I actually did meet her, I worked up the courage to tell her that she was my favourite and that I wanted to be a writer too, and she wished me luck!

dustbin baby

Side note: did anyone else have to share everything with their sibling so they wouldn’t feel left out?

Given that this was over ten years ago, I’ve realised that I should probably endeavor to go to more book signings.

4.What are your top 3 favorite animated films?

This is so hard! I’m lumping all the Toy Story films into one, because I couldn’t possibly choose between them. I went to see Toy Story 3 in the cinema and had to try very hard not to cry. Similarly, any of The Land Before Time films, which were my all-time favourites as a kid, owing to my heavy dinosaur phase (my favourite character was Chomper, in case you were wondering, which obviously you were). And I really love How to Train Your Dragon.

5.Longest book you ever read?

A Dance with Dragons by George R.R. Martin comes in at 1217 pages, so it’s the longest book I’ve read by a long way, with the exception of A Storm of Swords which is probably a similar length, but I have the paperback editions so it’s split into two parts.

6.What’s a hyped book you have 0 interest in reading?

Maybe Cassandra Clare’s books? So many people love them, but I feel like for every good thing someone says about her books, I hear a bad thing. I can never make up my mind whether I want to read her books or not!

7.What’s your favorite time of the day to blog?

When it comes to writing reviews and stuff, I usually handwrite them first whenever I have a spare minute. Usually, I end up typing them up in the evening and that’s when I reply to comments and read and comment on other people’s posts, too. It’s a nice way to wind down at the end of a long day 🙂

 

MY QUESTIONS

  1. What’s your favourite book of the year so far?
  2. What’s the most overhyped book you’ve read?
  3. Who are your favourite authors?
  4. What book would you recommend to everyone?
  5. What’s your favourite book to film adaptation?
  6. What are you currently reading?
  7. What’s the last book you did not finish?

 

MY NOMINATIONS

I’ve seen so many of these posts lately, so I’m not entirely sure who has been nominated and who hasn’t! So for now I’ll nominate Jill @ Rant and Rave About Books and Julianne @ Quilltricks!

18 thoughts on “REAL NEAT BLOG AWARD

  1. Yay! And I love your answers!!! It’s so cool that you hand-write your reviews! And you live in Bronte country?? Eep! That is amazing! I have such a romanticised view of all things British since I’m from the States…I would love to visit! I’ve been to England, but I never made it north of London on my trip. Also good choices for animated films! My favorite dinosaur was Ducky.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations on the award!
    Oh wow! You live in Bronte country, and have never been to the Bronte parsonage??
    Also, it’s so amazing you met Jacqueline Wilson! She was one of my favourite authors as a kid.
    And you hand write your posts? That’s bloody amazing! My respect for you is at an all time high! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks!
      I know, it’s so bad!! Every summer I’m like “this summer I’ll make sure I go” and then it just never happens. I really will have to get around to it!
      I loved her! It’s crazy that she’s written over 100 books now—when I was a kid I was determined to read them all!
      Thank you!! 😀 I find handwriting things gets my ideas flowing more than typing does 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I was reading this book called Yuki Chan in Bronte Country like a month ago, and it’s basically about this girl called Yuki who goes to Yorkshire to find about more about how her mother died, and then she visits the Bronte parsonage and literally is just so confused that old women go there in flocks like some sort of pilgrimage. It actually made me laugh! She had some amusing thoughts about it all. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. The Land Before Time was amazing. I had such a dinosaur obsession (lets be real, I still do). I had to do the sibling sharing thing too! So annoying, haha! Also, I have so much respect for you that you read a 1000 page book AND do handwritten reviews. That’s amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I loved it so much!
      Glad I’m not the only one! I’m sure I complained quite a bit at having to share the book with him haha.
      Ahh, thank you! 🙂 It took me like an entire month to read it, I’m kind of worried that the next book in the series is going to be even longer!

      Like

  4. Thanks for nominating me! I feel the same way about Cassandra Clare books. I can’t get on the hype train. A Game of Thrones is another book I attempted to read and lost interest about halfway through. I think part of it is because I know the series isn’t finished. I love the TV show. Nice answers! I’ll definitely do this tag. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No problem! 🙂
      I keep waiting for the hype around her books to die down, but she releases so many that I always end up feeling like I should give them a shot, and then I always decide against it. I totally get that with A Game of Thrones. I watched the first season before I started with the books, then I set a deadline to finish as many as possible before the second season aired, so it’s been a couple of years since I finished the series. I think if I knew then that the wait for the next book was going to be quite this long I probably would have ended up putting them off!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, I know. I thought she was finally done with The Mortal Instruments and then there’s more books. It’s like it never ends. I watched the first season of GoT before I read the first book, but I never finished it. I still can’t believe it’s 20 years since GRRM published the first novel and his publisher isn’t demanding an ending by now. If the show wasn’t so good, I wonder if they would even want to publish them at this point. I like his writing style though and would like to see him finish the series so I can read the books.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

