BOOKS I’D LIKE TO READ IN 2016

2016tbr

Is it too late to be making posts like this? Probably. But let’s all pretend that it isn’t.

So, I am absolutely awful for buying books and then just…not reading them. In a lot of ways, it’s a really terrible habit, and I’m trying to get to the point where every book I own and haven’t read is one that I’m excited to read. Of course, this doesn’t include the books I have to read for my MA. I’m not forcing myself to feel excited about some of those. With this in mind, I looked over the books that I own and began ordering them in a way that prioritises the ones that I really should get around to reading, so I thought I’d share some of those with you today!

As an aside: there’s a theme here. There is a very clear theme. You can probably already tell what it is.


THE NAME OF THE WIND BY PATRICK ROTHFUSS

2913377

So many people say this book is brilliant, so it just has to be, right? Or at least, that’s what I told myself when I bought this and its sequel, The Wise Man’s Fear, over two years ago. I’d meant to read it last year, but for some reason I never got around to it, so I’m definitely making time to read it this year.

 

THE FINAL EMPIRE BY BRANDON SANDERSON

6547258

I did actually start reading this book last year, and I enjoyed what I read of it. But then university stuff got in the way and I started getting anxious about not progressing in my reading challenge, or reading the books I ought to be reading, or whether I’d have time to marathon the series as I had intended, so I put it down. Since I know I like what little I have read of this book, it really shouldn’t be long before I pick it back up again.

 

THE LIES OF LOCKE LAMORA BY SCOTT LYNCH

865293

Even though the other two books I’ve mentioned so far have been sitting on my shelves far longer than this one has, I think this is the one I’ll get around to first. I’m so intrigued by this book and, honestly, I can’t even remember why. One I’ve got enough of my assigned reading out of the way, I’ll definitely be picking this one up.

 

ASSASSIN’S APPRENTICE BY ROBIN HOBB

21956219

I’ve wanted to get into Robin Hobb’s books for a very long time, but I was never really sure where to start. After consulting multiple blogs and YouTube videos, I decided to absolutely ignore everyone’s advice and just pick up her first published work. I gather that it’s not quite as good as her later work, but I like seeing how an author’s writing develops, so I hope this book encourages me to pick up more of her work. Also, this is actually comparatively short in regard to the other fantasy novels on this list, so I really have no excuse.

 

THE LONG WAY TO A SMALL, ANGRY PLANET BY BECKY CHAMBERS

24956528

Is it bad to include a book I just bought on this list? Whatever. I’d been eyeing up The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet for the longest time, but I was waiting for it to come out in paperback. I’ve heard nothing but good things about this book, and I can’t wait to read it, which I’m sure will be soon!

So those are some of the books I’d really like to get around to reading in 2016. Did you guess that the theme was, for the most part, that they’re incredibly lengthy fantasy novels? Apparently I have a problem.

5 thoughts on “BOOKS I’D LIKE TO READ IN 2016

  1. You HAVE to read The Name of the Wind! Read it in January and absolutely loved it. It’s long, and it takes a bit to really get into it, but once you’re over the first 100 pages or so it’s SO worth it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

